Do not organize your own wedding!

Whether you are a control freak or not, take my word for it, don’t try to organize your own wedding by yourself. This may be one of the most stressful things you’ll ever do. Especially if organizing is not your thing, this whole event will simply overwhelm you.

As I was living in Belgium, but most of my family is in Romania, we decided to have it there. Needless to say that organizing the wedding remotely was nerve racking. I just went once before the wedding to choose the location, which I did in half of an afternoon and then the rest was done from Belgium. Of course I had my mom on site to give me a hand and friends who kicked in the week before the wedding, but that was not enough.

Avoid getting stressed and becoming a bridezilla. Source: http://bit.ly/ZxNJ1G

Avoid getting stressed and becoming a bridezilla. Source: http://bit.ly/ZxNJ1G

There are so many details to look at: organize the menu, decorations, get a band or a DJ, make sure all the invitations are sent on time and RSV and so on. So, my advice is to get a professional to do it, if you can afford it. If you can’t, then choose a few friends and family members and delegate specific tasks to them. If that doesn’t work either, then I am sure that one of your close friends (if not your future spouse) is a great event organizer or project manager and can delegate for you.

Make sure you ask for help! This is the utmost important thing you can do when organizing a wedding! It’s not worth the stress and the few details that you will forget about, will surely go unnoticed. In the end, if you can’t enjoy your day, it’s sad and almost in vain for your memories of the day. I wasn’t able to enjoy our wedding, because I got stressed out of mind, but I am very thankful for the support I got from my friends and family.

P.S. A while ago I wrote a blog: “It’s not about the wedding, it’s about the marriage” explaining why not having a perfect wedding is OK.

7 thoughts on “Do not organize your own wedding!

  1. Hmmm…was going to press “Like” for this one but then rethought the whole thing. I read your post about the wedding vs. the marriage, I can’t remember when, but I remember agreeing with the context of it. Back in the dark ages when I got married (oh gosh 31 years tomorrow) we didn’t make the big hoopla that young folks do today. We got married and then had a buffet and some dancing. No planners, just the bride, her friends and mother helping to organize. And I remember one friend who got married after us just had chili, salads and buns at her dinner that various friends and relatives made. But we all had FUN! Without all the stuff. Sometimes less is more. And by more, I mean more meaningful.

  2. I had to chuckle at this… I am in Brussels and our wedding is in Cape Town in November. We don’t have a wedding planner – but have delegated tasks out to family/friends in SA.
    Mom is in charge of invitations and cake. Dad’s friend is a florist and will do the venue flowers and bouquets. The church is my aunt’s – so she is organising the organist, priest and church flowers.
    Photographer is someone we have used before….
    HIM and I picked the venue the last time we were there over Christmas…
    Bridesmaid dresses are bought and are the type that can easily be worn again…
    so essentially – the only things remaining are finding a dress and finalising the menu!
    we are not doing guest gifts, no speeches, no dj, no additional decor to the wedding venue (an amazing wine farm restaurant that doesn’t need anything more than a few flowers on the table)… we want to keep it simple and have fun!

  3. Just for the records…., I am the guy that married Nico and she did Amazing =)

    Love U babe

Leave a Reply

