Too comfortable for happiness?

The other day I was having a chat with one of my colleagues at work and I was explaining to her how I have the impression that someone I care about lots seems to always be unhappy. Although most of the variables in this person’s life should at least bring her to a decent level of happiness, dissatisfaction and sadness always have priority. It’s frustrating since I try so hard to work on these variables, but it just doesn’t seem to work.

Too comfortable to chill in the ocean :)

Too comfortable to chill in the ocean 🙂

Then, my colleague said something that got me thinking:”You know that there are people who have had a hard life and probably most of their existence were sad, so now it’s hard to change that.” I’m thinking that they got to a stage where although their life has changed they become numb to the feeling of being happy. It’s so comfortable to stay sad, as that’s all you know. Being happy requires effort, requires a change of attitude and that’s not always easy.

Of course, I don’t want to give excuses, but I at least want to understand and maybe take a stand in case this could happen to me. In case I get so used to a negative feeling, that it gets comfortable to live with it. I picture it as a pinch nerve that I’ve been fighting. If I put enough pressure on my shoulder I might be able to avoid the pain for a while. But I do know that on the long term, my physiotherapy sessions will help me, although it takes time and frustration as it’s not working as fast as I would like it to.

So, are you too comfortable in something that will not help you on the long run? If you are, mind you that you might wake up years from now miserable, bitter or mediocre at something that you could have excelled.

Leave a Reply

