It’s hard not feeling at home

It’s cool living in a another country than your home country for so many reasons. You get to experience a new culture, new cuisine, meet new people and if you’re lucky enough to be in an international environment with a wide array of people from all over the world.

Home is where the heart is

Most of us then maybe try to search for co-nationals, go to exhibitions or attend different events to stay in touch with our own people.I don’t do this much.

On the other hand, no matter how close of a friend you are with other nationalities, they will never fully understand you, never fully get your jokes or insights that make you click. I have by far more non-Romanian friends and I love them dearly, but they will probably won’t understand why when I was a kid during communissm I only saw bananas for Christmas, or only saw 1 cartoon in Russian that was never translated and enjoy pufuleti or eugenii 🙂

I’ve been having this feeling for a while and it’s not only me. I live in a place where I do not really speak fluently the local language, understand why I can’t throw my rubish any day I want, if I have too much or why I get partial fines for parking.

Being home I realise that this is not fully home either. I love it here cause of the people, food, memories, the feeling of cosy and familiar. But this is not home, it hasn’t been for some years now.

They say that home is where the heart is. My heart is suspended! I have not yet come to a place where I feel fully at home, I am spread into pieces. So, for now I will feel at home, where my heart is. And where is my heart?

My heart’s with Fernando, so home is wherever he is.

My heart’s with Brussels, so there’s another bit of home.

My heart’s with my family and friends wherever they are on this globe, so they are another piece of my home.

My heart’s with God, so home is in Him as well.

Where’s your home? Has your heart found it?

Thank you all of you for making me feel at home bit by bit!

6 thoughts on “It’s hard not feeling at home

  1. Nico, I totally relate to your article.. Couldn’t have said it better.. You just put this gasping smile on my face..

  2. I loved reading this Nico. I’m at “home” too this weekend (England) and have a similar feeling. Let’s hope that having our home in so many different places will enrich us and provide us with new roots.

Leave a Reply

