Luxembourg & Tartiflette: two new discoveries

I don’t remember how many times I’ve been to Luxembourg, but I do recall that every time I went there I got the same feeling: bored! No sparks to it and most of the people who go visit it have the same impression.

But this week-end we went and visited some friends who moved there from Belgium and got some pretty interesting insights. I must say, I never thought I would say this, but Luxembourg is looking pretty good now. Our dear friends are known to be explorers and always into discovering the places they live in, travel to or just pass by. So, I think this help them see Luxembourg from a different perspective and pass on this new discovery.

Luxembourg Center

Besides the fact that taxes are dreamy, in comparison to Belgium where they tax the air you breath, it appears to be opened to internationals, rich in culture, kids friendly, plenty of things to enjoy and of course well geographically positioned. But I let you make up your own mind when you get there.

Another thing I discover was the tartiflette. I know, it’s not Luxembourgish, it’s French, but never had it until now. Waw, it was an explosion of flavor, carbs using  such simple ingredients. Simply surprising! It is a winter dish, but seriously, have it whenever you can. You only get potatoes, loads of cheese, bacon, sour cream and other beautiful secrets to make a fantastic down to earth dish.

Delicious, fatty tratiflette

It got me thinking how easy it is to label a place, a person or whatever and how difficult it is to change up your mind afterwards. This trip helped me realize that I have misjudged Luxembourg. Additionally, didn’t even know how such a simple dish can be so delicious and surprising.

I don’t know if we will ever move to Luxembourg, but I am sure I will eat again tartiflette. I will keep it though for special occasions, it’s a whole event to digest it 🙂

Thank you Fiona & Rasmus for being so welcoming, day trips to Luxembourg are more tempting now!

2 thoughts on “Luxembourg & Tartiflette: two new discoveries

  1. Actually Luxembourg has a lot of things to offer (from amazing architecture and landscapes to cultural events and sports), it is just a matter of finding some good insider’s tips.

Leave a Reply

